Frostgrave in Summer: The Keep

Last time while I didn’t lose my wizard or get swept from the field, I only was able to gather one pile of treasure (my opponent hauled away five!). Further, my man-at-arms was killed and I had a wounded thug. Already I was down two men for the next game.

That put me in a pickle. I had decided to throw out any concept of maintaining a healthy, full warband, and opted not to make my home base an inn this campaign. I couldn’t have an extra slot for my warband, and had no means to let an injured soldier heal up. That meant my wounded thug would be thrown out on his posterior to make his cot available for any new hires. I settled on a man-at-arms and warhound, and essentially spent all the gold crowns in my treasury.

Instead of an inn for my home base I chose a high tower. This was an odd choice but I had Reveal Secrets and figured I could double down on the spell. Essentially my base choice gave me a +2 casting bonus making it far more possible for my apprentice to cast (giving me some out of game options). And with both my wizard and apprentice attempting to scry a location of treasure before the game, more likely I’d be able to place down an additional treasure. I figured over the campaign it would eventually pay off.

That idea completely went to pot as I failed to cast the spell both with my wizard (Wanda) and my apprentice (Marsha). So much for being clever with my selection of a home base. Not getting an extra treasure would be doubly difficult this game as I was playing the Keep scenario.

It’s an interesting one. Most of the treasure are on these stone platforms. When you end your move on them, you teleport randomly (or end up staying where you are). There is also a cluster of treasure at the center of the board. As I mentioned earlier, having another pile nearby off the teleportation disks, and away from the middle would have been helpful.

Honestly the game was pretty much a blur (and I forgot to take a lot of pics). We squared off with myself huddled behind a central ruined building. I wanted to push up through the middle and also along my left side, while my opponent had the same idea. And my opponent? Another Necromancer with some thugs, thieves, warhound, tracker, and a raging barbarian. He pretty much had the same idea and gameplan.

As I moved up my opponent put up a wall cutting me off from the central treasure. No worries as I had Dispel Magic prepared to take care of just such a situation. I cast it with my wizard and failed. Then I cast it with my apprentice, and failed. I moved up and the next turn tried again. My wizard cast and failed. Then my apprentice tried to cast Dispel Magic…and failed. Mind you I didn’t just barely fail my casts. I flubbed so hard I took damage for most of the attempts.

I finally had my soldiers just climb over the thing. And of course once they dropped down over the other side a new turn came up. My opponent rolled to see if the wall would stay around another turn and it disappointed. Just when I spent all that movement getting over the friggin wall of elemental energy. My opponent’s soldiers were just out of reach for combat, so he quickly got off Leap on the pair from his casters.

Things went pear shaped for my opponent some too though. Oddly my apprentice’s group of soldiers convened on the far right teleportation circle. It was a cluster of men (and hound) fighting where I came out on top. Only a wolf decided to enter the fray and I got bogged down even more for another turn.

I managed to cut down the wolf and clear the area of enemies. My thug to hauled the treasure away while my thief, man-at-arms, and hound ran off to make trouble. My opponent ended up having their barbarian step onto a platform and ended up on my side of the field. My archers promptly perforated him. However my opponent was still working his men off the table with Leap and making good progress at it.

I finally turned my attention to his pesky archer that was throwing pop shots. A cast of Push and I was able to knock him off his ruined building perch. He didn’t take any damage but I effectively put him out of the fight a turn while he scrambled to get into a firing position. I then managed to land Blinding Light both on his wizard and apprentice.

My fortune for getting Blinding Light on both casters was hampered some by the initiative. I acted second for the turn, meaning my opponent was able to get a wizard spell off and they were also able to get an opportunity to break its effects. I just was barely able to get the spell off and his necromancer dispelled it easily. His apprentice wasn’t so lucky. This was enough for him though and he decided to get his Necromancer scarce, but was successfully able to Leap his treasure burdened soldiers off the table with him.

In the end we both walked away with two piles of treasure. One of my thugs bit the dust but all of my other men recovered. I ended up with a paltry sum of coins (roughly 100 gold) but scored a couple of nice potions (Invisibility and Toughness). I also got a +1 hand weapon. I’m debating some whether to keep the weapon. It’s tempting to sell and get some needed cash for it. But we have Genie in a Bottle as a potential scenario, so having a magic weapon able to do damage to it would be helpful. I’ll have to mull over it some.

I only had gotten two levels and put that into improving my health and fighting. This stung a lot. My opponent was able to cast twice the spells I could that game. I was unengaged the entire time and was trying to cast lowish (8-12 casting) spells but just failed too many times. And worse, I really failed casting most of them to the point of not making it worthwhile to burn health to get it off. Another odd game. Not too bloodied and got a bit of treasure off, but lagged behind my opponent with earned experience.

