Frostgrave in Summer: First Expedition

We started up another league for the summer and my first match was against a necromancer. For this initial battle of the league we did a simple meeting engagement with no special rules. Just grab as much treasure as possible before the game ended. I got lucky and was able to cast Reveal Secrets, getting an extra treasure token that would be close to my deployment zone. My opponent tried to cast Create Scroll but was unable to muster up the magic to cast it successfully.

My opponent spent a bit of cash getting a pair of infantrymen and archers that he gathered around his necromancer. His apprentice lead another group of soldiers consisting of thugs and thieves (modeled as ghasts and ghouls).

I had a similar setup with my wizard, Wanda, having an archer, a few thugs, and a man-at-arms as a bodyguard on the right. While on the left side of the table I set up my apprentice, Marsha, with an archer, a few thugs, and thieves around her.

I got lucky with initiative and scurried forward. Successfully casting Enchant Armor on my wizard, Wanda with her defenses improved and flanked with several soldiers, was in a pretty secure position. My opponent was able to cast Leap thrusting one of his infantry forward towards some treasure.

During the apprentice phase, Marsha, fizzled her Enchant Armor spell and hustled in with one of the thieves from her group breaking off to gather a treasure token. Both my archers started to clamber up ruined buildings to get better vantage points.

The second turn my opponent demonstrated his breadth of spells which harried me the entire game. With both his wizard and apprentice he was able to cast Telekinesis on two treasures that were just within reach of my men. I tried to counter some with Transpose from my wizard but failed.

Marsha the apprentice however was able to get off another wicked spell I had chosen, Blinding Light. She managed to cast it on my opponent’s apprentice, utterly sapping them of any means to cast spells. My archers then were able to pepper some of this men with arrows. doing a bit of damage.

The following turn my opponent had his men gather up treasure and cast Leap, a spell that would be my bane during the whole battle. He was soon able to have his men rapidly make their way to the edge of the table. I was pretty much forced to have my men haul piles of treasure off by foot.

Fortunately my thief was chosen to do just that and that extra inch of movement helped (if slowed) in dragging off loot found on the battlefield.

With all the piles of treasure being discovered and being approached, rolls were made to see if any creatures would make their way onto the table. I ended up getting a zombie on my side of the board which shuffled towards Marsha the apprentice. I decided to play it safe and have one of my thugs linger so that he could intervene if the zombie came closer.

The following turns I was able to successfully cast Blinding Light on my opponent’s wizard, but they were able to break the effects of the spell resisting it soundly. My opponent cast Leap again, and positioned his his men within a charge distance of my wizard. Things began to get hairy on Wanda’s side of the field, as she was being threatened by an infantryman while my other soldiers were off fighting in combats of their own. I got my man-at-arms to engage with the enemy necromancer, forcing one of this thugs to drop treasure and try and help out with the fight.

Things began to get hectic on the apprentices’ side of the board also. His archer lined up a hefty shot on my apprentice. My men reciprocated charging and dispatching a thug and moving in to tangle with others. My archer missed their shot against the lone zombie. Not engaged the zombie closed in forcing my thug move to fight it. A bit of fortune for me was that an ice spider scuttled in from the side edge and made a quick run towards my opponent’s men. Quickly taking some cover, my apprentice was able to cast Heal and replenish her health some.

The latter turns of the game things began to slip away from me. My man-at-arms severely bloodied the necromancer but their accompanying thug was able to kill him. I managed to kill a thug and an infantryman. However my crafty opponent didn’t get swept up in any bloodlust and cast Leap instead, getting other men off the board with treasure. Others also dragged their loot off as all my men were tied up in combat, including Wanda, my warband’s wizard.

With my wizard tied up in combat, I was as a risky position. If I forced combat and lost, my opponent could dig into my health and have another opportunity to attack further during their activation, essentially doubling the chances of me getting a poor attack roll. Even if they couldn’t kill me outright, they could grind down my health and possibly get in a lucky blow. So I held off on my actions, hoping to roll well when they activated later during the turn. My opponent did eventually learn the pain of ranged attacks. Severely weakened in health due to earlier combats (and flubbed spells), my archer was finally able to get off a successful shot and drop the necromancer outright.

“For Wanda!”

On the apprentices’ side of the board, my men were tied up in combat. The opposing apprentice was finally able to shake off the effects of Blinding Light and cast Leap on treasure-burdened soldiers. I decided to try a goofy use of Push and get my own men into the scrum. Digging into the rules however, the spell did not resolve as I expected. I thought I’d be able to cast it without any resistance but the rules were pretty clear cut. I had to resolve it as an attack. So even on my own man they’d get a fighting roll to determine the result. I had my opponent roll for my thug. Sure enough despite getting the spell off and a +10 to the attack roll, my opponent rolled exceedingly well essentially cancelling the effects of the Push spell.

On the wizard’s side of the board, Wanda the Thaumaturgist was fighting for her life. My thug was also locked in combat, so my opponent seized the opportunity with his other men hauling treasure off the table. My archer fired parting shots and landed some hits but they were ineffective at bypassing his target’s armor.

Things soured on the apprentices’ side of the table too. The opposing warband made quick work of the ice spider and in turn cut down my thugs and thief. I had another thug get into the fray as I had Marsha retreat behind cover. My archer on the far side of the board did one last desperate shot to nab an enemy soldier carrying treasure, but failed to hit.

Wanda the wizard became wounded, as well as my thug near a pile of treasure. They both were in dire straits. My apprentice sped off towards my wizard and cast Blinding Light at the infantrymen engaged with Wanda. I hoped that for a few turns I could hold off fighting the soldier, and while they were under the effects of the spell, they couldn’t attack. Meanwhile the opposing apprentice lived up to the name of their chosen school of magic. While I had gained some in the battle of attrition near him, he walked forward and cast Raise Zombie on a fresh corpse, adding another body into the fight. Eventually my thugs were overcome.

My opponent wrapped up the game getting more of his soldiers carrying treasure off the board. My thug finally dropped his opponent and was able to grab the last treasure, but was unable to get it off the table, limping along with one action from being wounded. The soldier fighting Wanda broke the effects of Blinding Light, only to suffer from it again as Marsha, my apprentice, cast it again. However this meant that Wanda the wizard couldn’t effectively do anything. She couldn’t break off from the combat and couldn’t commit an action to fight (risking a flubbed attack roll was too risky).

My opponent successfully cast Leap with his apprentice getting even more treasure-laden soldiers off. In the end he claimed 5 treasure(!) to my one. We only had one treasure unclaimed that my thug was holding. I’d get a small bonus for possessing it and a little gold, but it would have been great if I could have gotten it off the board. To make matters worse, I had one thug out of action for the next game and my man-at-arms died. The most expensive soldier in my warband was lost (along with all the gold crowns I spent to hire him). My opponent had 2 men out of action and his downed wizard came out of the battle with an injury.

For treasure my opponent similarly cleaned up. He walked away with 6 grimoires and over 700 gold. This meant that spending some coin to heal his wizard was trivial. He also picked up over 400 XP and the grimoire of Bone Dart. I’m certain when we meet again he’ll have that incantation added to his repertoire of spells.

I cast and failed about the same number as my opponent. Just too many turns Wanda was entangled in hand to hand with that pesky infantryman. Not getting much treasure also killed my experience for the battle. I only limped away with 200 XP and 90 total gold in my treasury. I did get a bit of fortune however with the type of treasure I discovered. Aside from the gold crowns I got a Fate Stone to my wizardly equipment for Wanda. Having a clutch reroll might be helpful in future games.

It was risky not having an effective movement spell for the campaign and my opponent reinforced that, as being able to cast Telekinesis and Leap made for a potent combination. I was unable to cast Transpose (which I should have expected as the conditions for casting it are also difficult to meet). Push is also difficult to pull off if trying to move my units around. I simply have to be more mindful of positioning and attempt to set up situations where I can employ those spells more effectively. Blinding Light was pretty vicious however and with a string of bad saves, able to seriously hamper enemy units, especially casters.

It was a strange game. On paper you’d think I would have swept the field but my opponent got the right spells off and was able to capitalize on grabbing treasure when possible, while I was caught in too many combats. I really had wished I could have stolen away one more pile from my opponent. Time to lick my wounds and plan out for the next expedition.

