Frostgrave in Summer: The wizard and warband.

The gang wrapped up our last league for Frostgrave a few months ago and everyone was eager to give it another go. I licked my wounds some from last time and pondered what to try out for this new league. We decided to change the point structure for the league some. Points would be awarded for hauling off treasure primarily and a point for every 250 XP earned. At the end of the league, treasure and crowns would award 1 point for every 500 gold (or sell value) as a final bonus to earned points. This time we’d also try for a longer league going for 7 games and might possibly increase the number even more.

Another twist was to jumpstart our wizards some. We’d start with 200 XP that could only be used to improve the casting value of two different spells. We’d also begin with a potion of Healing. Just a little means to improve spellcasting and some resources to get over a bad first outing if needed. We all still had to fill out our warband with 500 gold crowns though.

This time around I decided to mix it up and play a Thaumaturge. I selected Blinding Light, a surprisingly vicious spell (provided my opponent kept failing their resist rolls) as my offensive spell of choice. I also selected Dispel. Too many times I’ve seen Elemental Wall being used to wreak havoc on my advances and shunting off avenues to treasure, so I wanted a means to get rid of them. Lastly I was torn between Shield and Heal, but figured I’d be more likely to empower key spells if having a decent chance to recover on a later turn, so Heal rounded out my primary school of magic spell selection.

For my allied schools I went with Push and Transpose. Transpose would be that risky spell to cast but Push was a little easier (and one of the selected spells to focus on for my initial XP). Push isn’t much of an offensive spell, but a great means to shift a pesky archer out of an elevated position, or shoo away any wandering creature getting too close.

My last allied school spell was Reveal Secret. I figured I needed at least one out of game spell. The high casting cost would be a pickle some. However I decided to select a Tower as my base of operations. This would bump down the casting cost to a more reasonable 12. I figure being able to get one additional treasure close to my deployment zone would eventually help my warband earn some phat loot over the league.

For my neutral spells I went with Enchant Armor with a pretty risky casting cost of 12. Being able to bump up armor a little would be helpful and give my troops some lasting power. My final spell would be Fog from the Witch school. A little LOS denial and a means to provide some quick cover and possibly herd wandering creatures away from my warband was ideal. The biggest reason was also the low casting value. Having a +4 penalty for being in a neutral school meant anything higher would just be a spell taking up a slot in my book. Having a 12 casting value meant I had a better chance of getting it off (and lessen the chance of taking damage from a botched casing roll).

For my warband itself I kept things cheap. Mostly thugs and thieves were the bulk of my warband. I also picked up 2 archers as I was limited on direct damage spells and ranged attackers would be useful. I did choose a man-at-arms to serve as a bodyguard for my wizard. Of course I also had to get an apprentice, leaving me with a pittance of gold in my treasury.

I kept the same wizard model but decided on a different narrative for the warband. Hearing of the demise of Elvira, another talented wizard decided to make her own name in the crumbling ruins. Gaining Marsha, an aspiring apprentice, and a paltry sum of coin she managed to cobble up a warband of ne’er do wells. Taking the name “Wanda’s Wanderers“, she took up residence in an abandoned tower, eager to see what glory, power, and wealth to be discovered in the ruins of Verdantia.

