Frostgrave in winter: final expedition

In preparation for my last game of the league I decided to see about creating a large construct and was successful casting it with my apprentice. I tried to cast a more reasonable spell of Create Scroll with my actual wizard but fizzled that out of game spell. I spent my out of game actions then picking up an archer to replace a casualty and the potion vendor. I got cold feet picking up any potions though as my gold reserves were pretty low. One aspect of our ranking was based on the amassed cash and treasure we gained, so I decided to hold off on getting any.

Our last game for the league would be somewhat like the first, just a simple mission to get as much treasure as possible without any other special scenario rules. The only change would be that creatures enter on the board on a 12+. We set things up facing across from each other and set about trying to haul off at much loot as possible. My warband was 2 archers, 2 thugs, 3 men at arms, a barbarian, and a hulking large construct. I set up in two groups moving in on either side of the board with my archers set on high ground.

My opponent’s warband led by a summoner.

I was facing off against a summoner which brought a construct of his own! Honestly the game was a bit of a blur. My wizard got pelted once with a crossbow and horribly failing several spells meant losing a chunk of health. Both of my groups moved up and tried to secure what treasure they could. I focused several turns of fire on a single ranger but was unable to land a hit.

My thief manages to scoop up some treasure.

My apprentice is slowly surrounded by creatures.

A medium construct wanders in from the left flank.

For much of the game I simply could not get any low casting spells off, and finally was able cast Leap a few times on a thief to get them off the board with some treasure. Having creatures wander into the battle on a 12+ meant that a slew of beasts and undead were on the board. I just seemed to get the preponderance of creatures though. A pair of wolves and a medium construct came in on the sides and quickly got stuck in with my forces, while an armored skeleton and a pair of zombies shuffled off towards my apprentice from my side of the board.

My opponent moves forward, summoning imps ahead of his troops.

‘Boss! Don’t worry I got that imp right in my sights.’ SPLURCH!…wet sounds… ‘Aw nuts.’

Meanwhile my apprentice is fighting for her life.

All the while my opponent was able to rapidly summon imps and demons, bolstering his forces. I decided to get one of my thieves around some high walls and allow for them to slip away with a Leap spell, as a summoned imp scampered towards my wizard. A archer tried to line up a shot while the creature was free of any cover and failed to land a hit. The imp was then upon my wizard, rolled a 20 to hit, and did a whopping 8 points of damage dropping my wizard.

A pair of wolves finally turn their attention to my opponent’s soldiers.

My thief sneaks off the battlefield, while my archer finally gets that pesky imp.

Morgana gets caught up in the slog of hand to hand combat.

I ended up getting in a mire of wandering creatures while my opponent was able to get 4 treasures off the board to my 2 piles of loot. He did get a few of his soldiers wounded, but was able to clear out his side of the board and limp his units behind cover (or off the board). With my wizard gone and my apprentice caught up in a melee with wandering creatures, I was unable to get any spells off. I dig manage to get my large construct into the fray with Leap, but eventually it was cut down by the armored skeleton. A one health creature just took so much effort to drop.

In the end my opponent got the lion’s share of treasure and came away with a nice haul of coin and an orb of power. I did get a few grimoires which was nice and likely could pad my treasure earnings. While my wizard recovered from their wounds, they only managed to get a smattering of XP while my opponent was able to walk away with 3 levels!

Drawing my total for the campaign, Elvira the Enchanter emerged as a level 10 wizard with some XP change to spare (1075 XP). Bitches’ Brew had 235 gold in the treasury along with some other items. 1 scroll of health worth 100 gold, 2 potions of healing (50 gold total), a potion of invisibility and of invulnerability (100 gold total), 3 grimoires (750 gold at 250 each) and a level 3 staff of power (250 gold).

My total treasury was worth 1485 gold and another 1075 XP meant I had earned a paltry 2560 points. A pittance compared to my other league mates. Hee, seems Elvira will soon find herself walking down the steps of the old dilapidated inn she chose as a base, only to find a cold fire, and an empty hall as her apprentice and hirelings have sought better prospects elsewhere.

