Frostgrave in winter: the complex temple

From my last drubbing into the ruins, I decided to lick my wounds a bit and not spend too much cash. I only opted to do one out of game action, hiring an archer to replace a casualty. My other wounded soldiers recovered, so I was entering this fight with a full group of soldiers and my medium construct. I was still going the cheap route with one man-at-arms, 2 archers, 3 thugs, and 2 thieves (plus my construct). Having an inn for my homebase was finally paying off being able to field an extra soldier in my warband.

I was going to need it though as my opponent this time was an elementalist. He also was running a pretty decked out warband with marksmen and rapid moving treasure hunters and thieves. This time we would be playing the complex temple. A pretty simple scenario with treasure being near a type of construct pillar. I felt I would need a few soldiers to be near each other and add in a few attacks to ensure the pillars were destroyed. Winning the first roll, I decided to let my opponent choose their board edge and I would get the first turn.

fgbat3b

fgbat3d
I moved onto the table having two groups, each clustered around my wizard and apprentice. A few of the treasure piles were in close proximity and I would likely be able to get to them within two turns. I moved in and began fizzling the cast rolls for both my Fog and Strength spells. A great start.

fgbat3a

My apprentice moved up the right side and her supporting soldiers were able to dispatch the column in short order. A thief accompanying them scooped up the treasure and made a beeline to get off the board. I was getting a swing of luck gaining the initiative for the first few turns which helped.

‘Seems easy enough, Fred. Just move on in there and pick up that pile of treasure at the base of the column.’ CRUNCH! (wet sounds) ‘HOLY NUTBALLS!’

‘Seems easy enough, Fred. Just move on in there and pick up that pile of treasure at the base of the column.’ CRUNCH! (wet sounds) ‘HOLY NUTBALLS!’

I managed to get Fog off and cast it in front of my advancing soldiers to the left. This really borked up my opponent’s line of sight for both his casters and one marksman, forcing him to focus fire on my apprentice’s group. My apprentice cast Strength on my construct and I sent it to wade in and cause trouble with the enemy warband. At this point I tried to get a second pile of treasure only to have a column take out my thug with a single hit.

Added to all this picking up treasure meant we might eventually get some creatures wandering onto the table. I got a bit lucky getting a lowly skeleton to come in on my opponent’s board edge. It tied up a thief carrying some treasure. However my opponent finally destroyed it and got their thief off the board.

‘Back to back, men! Say, is that a wizard over there?’ ZZZZZOOOOOOT! ‘HOLY NUTBALLS!’

‘Back to back, men! Say, is that a wizard over there?’ ZZZZZOOOOOOT! ‘HOLY NUTBALLS!’

At another column a few wild dogs ran in and tied up my troops. Forming a tight cluster side by side, I figured I could get some gang up bonuses all the while allowing my thief to run off with the treasure. It got bloody and then my opponent decided to drop in a Grenade spell among them. Ouch. I managed to drop one dog and have my thief with the treasure get out of the combat with a Leap spell. The lone dog ran off and ended tying up my opponent’s apprentice for a couple of turns.

Things then really started to fold. My apprentice got pegged from a marksman and was wounded after empowering a Leap spell on my thief to get some treasure off the board. I decided it better to get her out of the battle rather than potentially risk losing her. My wizard got ventilated from a marksman too, and then from a Grenade spell which was dropped down among a cluster of soldiers accompanying her. Also wounded, Elvira decided to slip off the table to ensure +10 XP for surviving the fight and also not risk suffering any lasting permanent injury.

A treasure hunter from my opponent’s warband ran up and got my man-at-arms in a melee. He wounded him one round and the next round eventually took my soldier out. In retrospect I could have dropped the treasure and made a better go at it being supported by my archer. I was hoping to drop him in one round and then manage to stumble off the board being literally a turn’s full move from my table edge.

Instead my opponent was able to get their apprentice to pick up the treasure with a Leap spell. We managed to squeeze out a turn 7 and he successfully cast a Leap spell to get very close to a neutral table edge, but turn 8 never came. In the end my opponent got 3 treasures to my 2. I had also forgotten that if my wizard had interacted with a column they would get 50 XP (my opponent was sure to do that at least once during the game).

For the battle I played very conservatively and still lost 4 men, but all of them recovered. I only got off a few spells fizzling quite a few. However I did luck out managing to get the initiative for almost the entire game, and some clutch empowered Leap spells ensured I got some treasure. I also found out clumping up for a combat bonus is great until you get a bunch of Grenade spells lobbed at you.

With the XP I earned I was able to get three levels, buffing up my health and fighting skill. For loot I had gained a grimoire of Shield and had the XP to learn it, so I could add that to my spellbook. I also got lucky treasure roll discovering a Staff of Power that will be wielded by my wizard, Elvira.

As I had scrimped and saved for the earlier games, I also managed to stock up a decent amount of cash. Likely I’ll send my thugs packing while I pick up a few extra men-at-arms and maybe a barbarian for the next game. So while not a rousing success, the expedition wasn’t a complete disaster like the previous expeditions either. Yet at this point I am pretty sure I am solidly in last place for the campaign league.

