2015 gaming (and some blogging) resolutions

Another year has rolled around. Looking back I dabble in a lot of different gaming topics. I’m sort of all over the place. Unfortunately it does leave of a lot of unfinished projects lying around. Especially with my miniature wargaming, I’ve probably bitten off more than I can chew. So I’m hoping this year to get some more focus with my hobby.

Get Pacific terrain done – Working with 20mm WW2 stuff, I really want to get more Pacific-themed terrain finished. I made a decent stab at western European buildings and such, but my Pacific terrain is lacking. Having some buildings and jungle terrain is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time but have never gotten around to. I need to rectify that.

Paint at least 80% of what I own – This isn’t monumental but it’s a heavy load to lift. I’ve accumulated a lot of different armies over the past few years and I really want to get them painted. I still have a 15 mm sci-fi platoon to paint up, along with a bunch of bugs, APCs, and a few tanks. Getting those done would be nice.

I have made a ton of progress with my Bolt Action stuff. I’ve got Germans, British, Japanese, and Pacific US Army platoons painted all in 20 mm. I’ve got a British paratroop platoon to work on. Along with some more armor kits to paint up. The big task will be to get my 28mm Russians painted. Not sure how much of a dent I can make into those ruskies at the end of the year, but I want to try.

I’ve also got a Relthoza Firestorm Armada fleet to work on, not to mention my SAGA Viking and Saxon warbands, and a Flames of War Russian infantry division to finish. The latter is really on my back (back, back) burner as I haven’t played FoW in years. I might look into an alternative ruleset to FoW so I can kickstart my desire to get back into WW2 15mm

Find skirmish sci-fi rules I like… – Over the years I’ve picked up several rules for sci-fi wargames, including making some alternatives to existing rules. There are quality rules out there but nothing that I quite like. I was gung ho to jump into Beyond the Gates of Antares however there are some aspects to the rules that I find clunky. Still on the prowl for something I would enjoy more.

…or write some of sci-fi rules of my own. – A few thoughts on a rule set have been rolling around my head though. I’d like a platoon skirmish system that doesn’t require a ton of bookkeeping and charts. Maybe a bit of rules for some armor. I really want to dabble in a fog of war system too. What I want is a little specific to what’s out there, so I’m considering working on a set of rules of my own making.

Buy RPGs I’ll play – I’ve adopted this already in 2014 and will be sticking to it. Over the years I bought a lot of books. I ended up dumping most and decided from now on to get books for games I plan on playing. Savage Worlds will likely be on that list for some setting specific books. I’m on the fence for D&D though. No clue if I will be running a game any time soon. I’ve got the starter set and will probably get the PDFs bound, but don’t see me buying the core books unless I can get a game going. Unfortunately, my group is pretty keen on other RPGs so not sure if 5E is in the cards for me.

Get more board game reviews done – I have a decent collection of board games. I really want to get a good chunk of my games reviewed. Very slowly I’ve been building a base of reviews and linking them to the Board Game Geek site. I enjoy making a contribution to that community. I might have to dabble in some tabletop wargame reviews also.

Compile my Expeditions of Amazing Adventure posts – There is an entire campaign setting there. Throw them together with a map. Flesh out some details on locations. Add a few more locations of interest. Yeah, there is something I could do with that for a fantasy setting. I want to get that done, along with adding a few more locales.

Revisit ASTRO Colony – A long while back I worked on a classroom social studies exercise, where students were different factions of a space colony, all trying to be the lead party in an election so they could gain resources and goals specific for their faction. They had to work with other faction groups to gain a simple majority by vote. It was an exercise to illustrate the how unyielding positions on certain platforms, and still being able to compromise, is a difficult issue for political parties. Especially if their own goals go against the immediate needs of the general public.

At it’s core, I’m happy with how ASTRO colony worked out. However I really need to clean the document up more. The presentation of the material is also unwieldy. I want to get an updated version of that done.

So that’s about it. It’s a pretty long list of goals. Hee. It’ll be interesting how many of these resolutions I can keep for the upcoming year. I sincerely hope folks have a wonderful New Year, and get a lot of gaming in with family and friends over 2015.

Leave a Reply

